November 28, 2022
The FCC stands for Federal Communications Commission.

The organization serves as the main U.S. body in the field of communication legislation, regulation and technological innovation. The FCC regulates interstate and international communications over radio, TV, satellites, wires, and cables throughout the United States.

How is the FCC working?

The FCC operates as an independent U.S. government agency controlled by Congress. The agency is managed by five commissioners, who are appointed by the President and approved by the Senate. The President chooses one of the members of the commission as chair.

The organization takes care to ensure that none of the commissioners is politically or economically motivated: no more than three members of the commission may be members of a Democratic or Republican Party, it is forbidden to hold financial interests in any activities related to the commission. All members of the commission have been in office for five years, the exception being the replacement of the unexpired term.

The main functions of the FCC are:

  • development and implementation of regulatory programs;
  • processing of applications for licenses and other documents;
  • promoting the development of innovative services;
  • conducting proceedings;
  • analysis of complaints;
  • social security;
  • informing and educating consumers;
  • development of rules and regulations.
We use cookies to optimize site functionality and give you the best possible experience. To learn more about the cookies we use, please visit our Cookies Policy. By clicking ‘Okay’, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn more.